venerdì 23 febbraio 2018

Ofcom awards four new community radio licences

Ofcom has today announced the award of four new community radio licences in England and Northern Ireland.

The new stations will serve communities in Coleraine and Larne in Northern Ireland, and York in North Yorkshire.
Community radio services are provided on a not-for-profit basis, focusing on the delivery of specific social benefits to a particular area or community of interest.
More than 250 community radio stations are currently on air today.
The four new community radio licences have been awarded to:

Coast FM (North West Student & Youth Community Radio Limited)
Contact name: Vincent Stuart
Coast FM will broadcast to people in Coleraine, Northern Ireland.

Coast Radio (CoastView Media Limited)
Contact name: Lewis McAdam
Coast Radio will be a radio station for the people of Larne in Northern Ireland.

Jorvik FM (Jorvik Radio Limited)
Contact name: Stephen Twynham

YO1 Radio (YO1 Radio Limited)
Contact name: Chris Marsden
Jorvik FM and YO1 Radio will broadcast to communities in York.

The licences are awarded for a five-year period. There is a statement (PDF, 521.1 KB) setting out the main determining factors for the award of the licences above.